Wilson Announces Incentive Awards for SC Totaling Over $1.8 Million

May 12, 2003
Press Release
SC one of Sixteen Eligible States That Exceeded Workforce Investment Goals
Today, Rep. Joe Wilson (R-S.C.) announced $1.8 million in incentive grants would be awarded to South Carolina under the Workforce Investment Act (WIA). South Carolina was one of sixteen states to exceed negotiated performance goals in employment, training and education programs to qualify for the grants from the U.S. Department of Labor and the Department of Education. The funds must be used on innovative workforce development and education activities. “I’m pleased that the Bush Administration continues its focus on jobs in America,” said Rep. Wilson. “South Carolina should take pride in surpassing employment goals, as all of our counties reported a drop in their unemployment rates between February and March of this year.” “Because one unemployed worker is one too many, the President and I want to commend the programs that produce the best results,” said Labor Secretary Elaine Chao. “Those results translate into more workers returned to the workforce with hope for a promising future.” Education Secretary Rod Paige said, “It is important that every state set high performance levels for students in academic and career-technical education and work to ensure that all students have a fair opportunity to meet these performance levels.” The Education Secretary added, “This Administration believes that public education has a major responsibility for preparing our students for the challenges of the 21st century workforce if the country is to continue as the economic and technological leader of the free world.” Goals states exceeded, including training, retention in employment, and improved literacy levels, were negotiated under three laws -- WIA, the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education Act, and the Adult Education and Family Literacy Act. The amount of the grants, available to states through June 30, 2005, is based on total training funds received by each state under the three acts. Eligible states must submit applications within 45 days of publication of the incentive awards announcement in the Federal Register and must provide a description of planned innovative uses for the funds. ### NOTE: A list of eligible states and the amount of incentive funds for which each qualifies is attached. STATE AMOUNT OF AWARD 1. Colorado $1,138,334 2. Florida $3,000,000 3. Illinois $3,000,000 4. Kentucky $2,074,242 5. Louisiana $3,000,000 6. Maryland $1,944,845 7. Montana $ 750,000 8. North Dakota $ 750,000 9. Nebraska $ 750,000 10. Oklahoma $1,382,134 11. South Carolina $1,866,263 12. South Dakota $ 750,000 13. Tennessee $2,604,604 14. Texas $3,000,000 15. Washington $3,000,000 16. Wyoming $ 750,000