Wilson Sends Bipartisan Letter to Secretary Hagel Regarding Distinguished Warfare Medal

Mar 4, 2013
Press Release

Congressman Joe Wilson and 48 other members of the House of Representatives today sent a bipartisan letter to Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel.  The subject of the letter was the Department of Defense's recent decision to create the new Distinguished Warfare Medal (DWM) and place it above the Bronze Star and Purple Heart in the order of precedence. Recipients of the DWM are recognized for their extraordinary service that directly impacts combat operations, while not being physically present in a combat zone. 

“The brave men and women in our Armed Forces dedicate their lives to serve this great nation and often times put themselves in harms way to protect the freedoms and liberties all Americans are able to enjoy. The recent Department of Defense decision to rank the Distinguished Warfare Medal higher in precedence than the Bronze Star and Purple Heart does a disservice to our service members and veterans who have severed overseas in hostile and austere conditions. It is my hope that Secretary Hagel will change the Department’s decision so that our veterans who have earned the Bronze Star and Purple Heart will receive the appropriate recognition they have earned and deserve.”

In addition to Congressman Wilson, the following Members of Congress co-signed the letter to Secretary Hagel:

Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA)

Rep. Randy Forbes (R-VA)

Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-NC)

Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH)

Rep. Rob Andrews (D-NJ)

Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)

Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)

Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL)

Del. Madeleine Bordallo (D-Guam)

Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)

Rep. Robert A. Brady (D-PA)

Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)

Rep. Bill Enyart (D-IL)

Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ)

Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)

Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)

Rep. Joe Heck (R-NV)

Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)

Rep. Scott Rigell (R-VA)

Rep. Jon Runyan (R-NJ)

Rep. Steven Palazzo (R-MS)

Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA)

Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)

Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL)

Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX)

Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR)

Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH)

Rep. Tom Reed (R-NY)

Rep. Phil Roe (R-TN)

Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC)

Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)

Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC)

Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA)

Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-OK)

Rep. Keith Rothfus (R-PA)

Rep. Alan Nunnelee (R-MS)

Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)

Rep. John Duncan (R-TN)

Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)

Rep. Tim Griffin (R-AR)

Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-SC)

Rep. John Fleming (R-LA)

Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI)

Rep. Timothy Walz (D-MN)

Rep. Ron Barber (D-AZ)

Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS)

Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)

Letter to Sec. Hagel - DWM